TN: EC announces bye-poll for Radha Krishna Nagar assembly seat

The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Friday announced journalist-turned-politician N Marudhu Ganesh as its candidate for the Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar (RK Nagar) Assembly constituency bypoll, which is scheduled to be held on December 21.

Assembly bye-election are going to be held in various parts of the country on December 21, including RK Nagar in Tamil Nadu, Sikandra in Uttar Pradesh, Sabang in West Bengal, and Pakke-Kasang and Likabali in Arunachal Pradesh.

This announcement comes days after the Madras High Court said it expected the EC to hold bye-election in RK Nagar by December 31.

The RK Nagar seat has been vacant since the death of former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa on December 2016.

David Cassidy is suffering from organ failure
Cassidy is best known for his role as Keith Partridge in the '70s TV series and for his career as a pop singer. Partridge Family alum David Cassidy was recently hospitalized and his family has rushed to his side.

MK Stalin, the de facto chief of the DMK (in the absence of his ailing papa M Karunanidhi) announced on Saturday that Maruthu Ganesh would be his party's candidate for the bypoll. Last date for filing nominations will be December 4. These two leaders had been in opposing splinter groups of the party the last time the by-election had been announced.

"Our candidate is in the fray with the support of our allies".

Sources said the party had made a decision to contest this election and the party's top brass in Delhi would be announcing the candidate within a few days. "We released a manifesto this April when the party's presidium Chairman E Madhusoodhanan was contesting (on behalf of deputy CM O Panneerselvam-led AIADMK faction) and there was a separate Edappadi K Palaniswami manifesto (on behalf of TTV Dhinakaran) also that was prepared earlier".

Meanwhile, BJP State president Tamilisai Soundararajan held discussions with senior leaders at the party headquarters regarding the bypoll.

  • Megan Austin