Rookies Siraj, Iyer in T20 squad; no rest for Virat Kohli

Rookies Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj have been called up in the Indian squad for the upcoming 3-match T20 series against New Zealand.

Ashish Nehra, who will retire after the first T20 game against New Zealand on November 1, has been picked for only that game scheduled in his home ground of Delhi.

MSK Prasad, India's chairman of selectors, said: "Shreyas Iyer has been prolific in all forms of the game, be it day's format, be it one-day or T20 or IPL, you name anything he has been performing. Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Siraj", MSK Prasad, the chief of the selection panel, said.

22-year-old Iyer was in fine form in the recently concluded series between New Zealand A and India A where he scored 317 runs in the four matches including a highest score of 108. If we pick a player, we will give him a long run. He will play the first T20I in Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi which is his home ground following which he will bid adieu to global cricket.

NOAA's winter forecast is in, and it looks frozen for us
Private forecasting firm Accuweather agrees that a La Nina pattern is likely to emerge with the start of winter. It has extensive effects on the weather in North America and can affect Atlantic and Pacific hurricane seasons.

Both players have not played global cricket as yet but are regulars in the India A team with Iyer in prolific form with the bat.

"There are a lot of apprehensions about Nehra". "He is still the best wicketkeeper-batsman, not only India has but still one of the best in the world". Read Also India vs New Zealand series 1st ODI: India lose, but Virat Kohli gets closer to god. Kohli leads a 16-man squad that includes two spinners in Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, five pacers in Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya and Siraj, and batsmen in Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey and Siraj, apart from allrounder Pandya. Prasad made it clear that the 38-year-old's inclusion in the playing XI will be the team management's decision.

Naman Ojha (captain, wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B. Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, C. V. Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier and Ravi Kiran.

  • Regina Holmes