American Galen Rupp wins Chicago Marathon

Three-time Olympian Galen Rupp was the victor, in 2:09:20.

Rupp beat out fierce competition, including defending champion Abel Kirui, to take an historic victory and become the first USA victor since Khalid Khannouci won in 2002.

Ethiopia's Tirunesh Dibaba won the women's race in 2:18:31.

The last time an American runner won the Chicago Marathon was Deena Kastor in 2005.

Dibaba vowed to challenge the women's course record of 2:17:18 set by British world record holder Paula Radcliffe in 2002 and was on that pace in the early going.

Why? Dante Daniels beaten to death by Deandre Chaney Jr with hammer
Salone told detectives that she was "struck at least three times" with a hammer from behind as she went to check on her child. Along with murder and attempted murder charges, Chaney Jr. also faces a charge for lewd acts with a child under 14.

Kenya's defending champion Florence Kiplagat pulled out soon after halfway after losing contact with the leaders. Hasay, who had a 2:23:00 marathon PB entering the race, was running 2:17 pace through the quarter-mark of Chicago, her second-ever marathon after finishing third in Boston in April 2017. Stanley Biwott, a 2:03:51 marathoner and victor of New York City in 2015, dropped out shortly after. Brigid Kosgei of Kenya came second and American Jordan Hasay was third.

By 35K in both races, the lead packs had dwindled.

Rupp, a two-time Olympian, finished the men's race with a time of 2:09:20. Dibaba was out in front on her own, having gapped Kosgei, while Kirui, Rupp and Ethiopian Sisay Lemma were in contention duking out who would finish where on the men's podium.

Kirui came in second place only 28 seconds behind Rupp, and another Kenyan, Bernard Kipyego, came in third. The last United States of America runner to medal in that race was Bill Mills, who won gold at the 1964 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Rupp clinched the silver medal in the men's 10,000m race at the 2012 London Olympics.

  • Megan Austin